The Lagos State Governor, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu, transmitted a second list of cabinet member-nominees to the Lagos State House of Assembly. This is coming a few weeks after the House confirmed 22 and rejected 17 out of the 39 nominees earlier sent to it for ratification and confirmation.

The immediate past Commissioner for Health in the state, Prof. Akin Abayomi, who was among the 17 nominees rejected by the House, made the new list. The ad hoc committee led by the Chief Whip, Fatai Mojeed, who screened the previous nominees, will also screen the new set of nominees.

It was reported that the Governance Advisory Council, the apex leadership body of the All Progressives Congress in Lagos, waded into the circumstances surrounding the rejection and directed the governor and the Speaker of the House, Mudashiru Obasa, to meet and settle their differences.

This was after Obasa raised the alarm on the floor of the House that there were threats of attack on him and his colleagues, warning that those who live in glass houses should not throw stones.

A letter by Governor Sanwo-Olu thanked the Speaker and members of the House for their diligence and commitment in relation to the recent screening and confirmation of 22 nominees.

Obasa gave the screening committee until Thursday, September 7 to report back to the House

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top